Fleeing the Scene of an Accident
Hit & Run Attorneys
Motor vehicle accidents occur often and can happen to anyone, anywhere. When a collision occurs, state traffic laws require the parties involved to follow certain procedures immediately after the accident to ensure everybody’s safety and legal responsibility. Because of the stressful and chaotic nature of collisions, sometimes people react by fleeing the scene before any officers arrive. Fleeing an accident, however, should never be done as doing so can lead to hefty consequences. If you were involved in a motorcycle accident and fled the scene, it is crucial that you contact an attorney who can represent you. At 911 Biker Law, we can provide you with an experienced and reliable Orlando motorcycle defense attorney.
What is Considered a Hit-and-Run in Florida?
Fleeing the scene of an accident, also known as a hit-and-run, is a criminal offense in the state of Florida. A hit-and-run is defined as failure to remain at the site where the vehicle collision occurred and carry out the mandatory statutory duties for accidents involving property damage, bodily injury or even death. Depending on the type of accident, some of the statutory duties include:
- Exchanging information such as name, address, and registration number.
- Notifying and waiting for police officers to arrive.
- Calling for medical assistance.
- Performing reasonable assistance including carrying out or making necessary arrangements for medical treatment.
Depending on the severity of the collision, a hit-and-run conviction will carry different penalties.
Property Damage Hit-and-Run
In the state of Florida, if a driver leaves the scene of an accident that only resulted in property damage without any injury to a person it is classified as a second degree misdemeanor. Property damage hit-and-runs can include penalties of up to 60 days in jail, six months of probation and up to a $500 fine.
Bodily Injury Hit-and-Run
A person found guilty of a hit-and-run that involved injury to another person will be convicted of a third degree felony. Penalties for a third degree felony include up to five years in prison, five years probation and up to a $5,000 fine.
Serious Bodily Injury Hit-and-Run
Serious bodily injury is a sustained injury or injuries that cause disfigurement, loss of limbs, impairment of organs or a bodily member, or pose a substantial risk of death. If convicted of fleeing a scene after serious bodily injury, the offense will be classified a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison, 15 years probation and a maximum $10,000 fine.
Hit-and-Run Involving Death
A hit-and-run where the collision caused a death is considered a first degree felony. If convicted, the offender can face up to 30 years in prison, 30 years of probation, and a fine up to $10,000.
Arrest Warrant for a Hit-and-Run in Central Florida
If you commit a hit-and-run on your motorcycle, depending on the severity of the damage and results of the collision, the police will be tasked with conducting an in-depth investigation to determine who the person that fled was. This will involve interviewing witnesses, reviewing surveillance and more. Once they determine who the person was, they will most likely have a warrant for your arrest and will proceed to locate you immediately. If you are found in this situation, it is highly important that you seek the help of a motorcycle lawyer.
Traffic Defense Attorney in Orlando, FL
If you were involved in a collision while on your motorcycle and fled the scene before law enforcement arrived, it is imperative that you hire an attorney to represent you. Penalties for a hit-and-run can be severe, an experienced attorney can help you build a defense that could minimize or even avoid the potential consequences. Contact 911 Biker Law today, for a motorcycle accident attorney Orlando residents can rely on.