Hit & Run Vehicle Accident Attorneys
Leaving the scene of an accident, also called a hit and run accident, is a serious crime in Florida. Crashes are often unforeseeable, the suddenness of the accident can leave a person disoriented and temporarily not in a normal state of mind. Yet, if a person leaves the scene, they may face charges for a hit and run with the consequences varying depending on the situation. If you or a loved one are facing charges for a hit and run, contact a hit and run attorney at 911 Biker Law today.
What To Expect If You've Been Charged With Hit & Run
The state of Florida requires anyone involved in a car crash to take two actions after the accident — to provide necessary information to the other parties and to contact medical personnel as needed. Failure to do so can result in a misdemeanor or felony charge; both of which carry a monetary fine, a potential jail term, and possible restitution settlements. To speak with a hit and run attorney who will protect client rights, contact 911 Biker Law today.
Citizen Duty To Provide Information & Render Aid
Florida Statute § 316.062 requires any driver who is involved in a car crash that results in the injury or death of another person, or property damage caused by the accident, to provide information and render aid. The required information includes your:
- Drivers License Number
- Vehicle Registration Number
To render aid, a person is required to call 911 for medical care for anyone injured in the crash.
Property Damage Caused By A Hit & Run Accident
Property damage in this situation may include a building, structure, and/or a vehicle. Regardless of the involved property, the responsible driver is required by Florida law to stay at the scene and provide all required information to the property owner. If the property owner isn’t available to receive the information, the driver must report the accident to the nearest law enforcement facility. Along with reporting the accident, you’re required to leave contact and vehicle information with law enforcement. Failure to report the accident and property damage is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida. Penalties include up to 60 days in jail, up to 6 months of probation, and up to $500 in fines.
Leaving The Scene Of An Accident That Involves Injury Or Death
If you leave the scene of an accident that caused personal injury to another person, the vehicular crime becomes a third-degree felony. The penalties for this situation include up to five years in prison or up to five years of probation and up to $5,000 in fines. If the accident resulted in the death of another person, the hit and run charge becomes a first-degree felony. Penalties include up to 30 years in prison, up to 30 years of probation, and up to $10,000 in fines.
Hit & Run While Driving Under The Influence
Leaving the scene of an accident while under the influence of alcohol or drugs also carries the potential for significant penalties. A driver faces a mandatory minimum two-year prison term along with a mandatory minimum three-year revocation of their driver’s license. The driver isn’t eligible for a hardship license until a 12-hour advanced driver improvement course has been completed.