Attaching Tag Not Assigned Charges in Orlando, FL
If you’re familiar with vehicles and driving, odds are you’ve heard about registration tags. Registration is the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ (FDHSMV) way of knowing the registration tax and fees for the vehicle are up-to-date. Any motor vehicle driven or operated on the roads in Florida is required to be registered under S. 320.02, F.S. It includes a metal license plate, registration certificate, and validation decal, and is current for one or two years then needs to be renewed to be legal.
But the tag isn’t allowed to be transferred among vehicles, even if they’re in the drivers’ name and all other information is correct. If you’ve received a citation for attaching tag not assigned, contact the Orlando motorcycle accident lawyers with 911 Biker Law. This seemingly innocuous citation is a criminal offense under Florida law and can have a lasting impact on your life. Contact our law firm today!
What Attaching Tag Not Assigned Means
The charge, outlined in S. 320.261, F.S., happens when a person re-uses a tag registered to one vehicle on a different one. For example, if a new car is purchased, the license plate from a previous car is attached to the new car without filling out appropriate paperwork from FDHSMV. To be charged with attaching tag not assigned, the following criteria must be met:
- The driver physically attached the registered license plate to the vehicle;
- Said license plate wasn’t legally registered for the vehicle; and
- The driver knew the license plate wasn’t registered for the vehicle.
Any Motor Vehicle Requires An Assigned Tag
Any motor vehicle has to have a registration tag attached to it. In Florida, a motor vehicle is an automobile, motorcycle, truck, or other vehicle defined in S. 320.01, F.S. Generally renewals for vehicle tags are due the month of the driver’s birthday. Some Florida counties send a courtesy reminder to drivers that the registration is nearly up for renewal. But it’s still the driver’s responsibility to renew the vehicle registration by the deadline.
Penalties For Attaching Tag To Unassigned Vehicle
Attaching a registration tag to an unassigned vehicle is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida. If convicted, the penalty is up to 60 days in jail or six months in jail and a $500 fine. An Orlando criminal defense attorney with 911 Biker Law has experience helping drivers facing this charge.
Though these penalties are the maximum for the charge, many people are considered first-time offenders and likely face an adjudication of guilt, unknowingly creating a criminal record. They simply schedule the required hearing after receiving the ticket, enter a no contest plea, and pay the court costs. Except, these actions enter a criminal plea. This information has to be disclosed on college and job applications, security clearances, and other areas in your personal and professional life.
What To Do If You’ve Been Stopped
If you’ve been pulled over or stopped in Florida for an unassigned vehicle tag, don’t say or admit to knowing about the tag. It’s up to the State to prove you knew it was unassigned beyond a reasonable doubt under the three criteria outlined above. An example of this situation is if you borrowed a friend’s vehicle that had an unassigned tag attached then were stopped by law enforcement while driving. An experienced motorcycle injury attorney understands the appeal of paying the citation, but by consulting with 911 Biker Law, we’ll be able to defend your rights and many times have the charge dismissed.
Criminal Defense Attorney In Orlando
The Orlando motorcycle accident attorneys with 911 Biker Law have years of experience helping clients with an attaching tag not assigned charges. We understand what needs to be proven beyond a reasonable doubt and build a strong defense to fight the charge for you. Don’t let a citation such as this interfere with everyday life, contact our law firm today to discuss your case!